Top Yoga Poses to Balance the Chakras

Updated: Nov 13, 2019

Our body has over 70,000 chakras. Each time our meridians (nadis) cross, that junction is called a chakra. Seven main chakras make up our energetic system. These seven chakras are energetic centers located at the endocrine glands.

When your chakras are balanced, energy is able to freely flow through your energetic system. This leads to a greater sense of peace and wellness.

Having balanced chakras impacts your aura, or energetic field. A balanced aura will allow you to attract positive results.

Negative thoughts, feelings, foods, and inaction can adversely influence the chakras, thus our energetic health. The long term effects could lead to mental, emotional, and physical imbalances, density, or blocks in the chakras.

An individual with physical imbalances in a specific area may also reflect the imbalanced qualities associated with the connecting chakra.

There are numerous ways to balance and cleanse your chakras. This includes eating foods associated with the color of the chakra and practicing yoga where particular poses help to open up the chakra.

In addition, journaling to reflect on areas of your life that may require shifts is also important in balancing the chakra.

Just like maintaining a clean home and work environment, our chakras need to be maintained regularly too. Besides Reiki energy healing, various yoga poses can also help to balance the chakras.

Yoga poses and sequences can open and align the seven chakras, or energy centers, of the body. A well-tuned asana practice can free up energy and stimulate imbalances in the energy centers.

This not only enhances your yoga practice, but also provides a sense of balance, grounding, and calmness in life off the yoga mat.

Looking to balance your chakras without meditation, headphones or mantras? Play this while sleeping or watching TV.

Access the Chakra Guide!

Here are a few yoga poses to help you balance your seven chakras:

First (Root) Chakra: Security & Survival

Yoga exercises: front body stretches, crow pose, chair pose

Key focus: Action speed

Second (Sacral) Chakra: Creativity

Yoga exercises: cobra pose, butterfly, sat kriya, maha mudra

Key focus: Feelings, empathy

Third (Navel) Chakra: Action & Balance

Yoga exercises: bow pose, fish pose, dancers pose, movements that strengthen the core

Key focus: Thoughts, logic

Fourth (Heart) Chakra: Love & Compassion

Yoga exercises: arm balance poses, upper torso twists, breathing exercises

Key focus: Caring, compassion

Fifth (Throat) Chakra: Projective Power of the Word

Yoga exercises: cobra pose, plow pose, camel pose, neck stretches

Key focus: Communication, listen, create

Sixth (Third Eye) Chakra: Intuition, Wisdom, & Identity

Yoga exercises: meditating, archer pose, all exercises where the foreheads rests on the floor

Key focus: Community

Seventh (Crown) Chakra: Humility & Vastness

Yoga exercises: meditating, sat kriya, mahabandha

Key focus: Self Awareness, service

Top Yoga Poses to Balance the Chakras; sanskrit names for yoga poses, sanskrit glossary, yoga pose names in sanskrit; #yoga #mindbodyspirit #energyhealing #chakras #chakrahealing #clearchakras #mindfulness #meditation #intentionalliving #holistichealth #holistichealing #health #wellness #selfcare #selflove

Trying to look up the sanskrit name for downward facing dog? Different styles of yoga may have different names for an asana (yoga postures).

Below are sanskrit names for common yoga poses. Each pose is categorized by pose type. Not sure which category a specific pose fall under? Simply do a search (Crtl F) and type in the English name.

Surya A and B Poses

Tadasana: Mountain pose

Urdhva hastasana: Upward salute

Uttanasana: Forward fold

Ardha uttanasana: Half forward fold

Anjaneyasana: Low lunge pose

Adho mukha svanasana: Downward facing dog

Phalankasana: High plank

Chaturanga dandasana: Four limbed staff pose

Urdhva mukha svanasana: Upward facing dog

Utkatasana: Chair pose

Virabhadrasana 1: Warrior 1 pose

Standing Poses: Neutrally rotated (forward facing hips)

Padangusthanasana: Forward fold with yogi toe bind

Padahasthasana: Gorilla pose

Prasarita padottanasana: Intense spread leg stretch/wide leg forward fold

Parsvottanasana: Intense side stretch/pyramid pose

Standing Poses: Externally rotated (open/side facing hips)

Virabhadrasana II: Warrior 2

Utthita parsvakonasana: Extended side angle pose

Utthita trikonasana: Triangle pose

Parighasana: Gate pose

Standing Balancing Poses

Vrksasana: Tree pose

Utthita hasta padangusthasana A + B (Standing big toe pose)

Garudasana: Eagle pose

Virabhadrasana 3: Warrior 3

Ardha chandrasana: Half moon pose

Natarajasana: Dancer’s pose


Salabhasana: Locust pose

Bhujangasana: Cobra pose

Dhanurasana: Bow pose

Ustrasana: Camel pose

Kapotasana: King pigeon pose

Setu bandha sarvangasana: Bridge pose

Urdha dhanurasana: Upward facing bow pose

Matsyasana: fish pose

Seated Poses and Forward Bends

Dandasana: Staff pose

Padmasana: Lotus pose

Navasana: Boat pose

Paschimottanasana: West side, intense stretch pose

Marichyasana A: Name of a sage

Baddha konasana: Bound angle pose

Janu sirasana: Head to knee pose

Upavistha konasana: Forward straddle pose

Kurmasana: Tortoise pose

Gomukasana: Cows face pose

Balasana: Child’s pose

Sukhasana: Easy seated pose

Padmasana: Lotus pose

Virasana: Hero pose

Hanumanasana: Hanuman’s pose

Supine Poses

Pursvottanasana: Incline plank pose

Supta virasana: Supine hero pose

Apanasana: Knee to chest pose

Ananda balasana: Happy baby pose

Halasana: Plow pose

Karnipidasana: Knee to ear pose

Supta padangusthasana: Supine big toe pose

Supta parivartanasana: Lying spinal twist

Jathara parivartanasana: Supine twist

Twisting Poses

Parivrtta trikonasana: Revolved/twisting triangle pose

Parivrtta parsvakonasana: Revolved/twisting side angle pose

Parivrtta ardha chandrasana: Revolved/twisting half moon pose

Parivrtta janu sirsasana: Revolved head-to-knee pose

Bharadvajasana: Seated hip-opener twist

Ardha matsyendrasana: Half lord of fish pose

Parivrtta surya yantrasana: Compass pose

Arm Balances

Vasisthasana: Side plank pose

Tolasana: Scale pose

Lolasana: Pendant pose

Bhujapidasana: Arm pressure pose

Tittibhasana: Firefly pose

Astavakrasana: Eight angle pose

Bakasana: Crane/crow pose

Parsava bakasana: Side crow pose

Galavasana: Flying crow pose

Eka pada koundinasana II: One-legged arm balance pose


Viparita karani: Legs up the wall pose

Sirsasana: Headstand

Salamba sarvangasana: Shoulder stand

Pincha mayurasana: Peacock pose

Adho mukha vrksasana: Handstand


Eka pada rajakapotasana: One-legged king pigeon pose

Savasana: Corpse pose

Bindilasana: Cat pose

Marjariasana: Cow pose

Balance your chakras throughout the day.

Looking to balance your chakras without meditation, headphones or mantras? Play this while sleeping or watching TV.

Access the Chakra Balance Guide today!

Top Yoga Poses to Balance the Chakras