7 Reiki Yoga Poses to Balance the Chakras

Updated: Nov 23, 2020

Just like maintaining a clean home, our chakras need to be maintained regularly too. Our body has over 70,000 chakras. Each time our meridians (nadis) cross, that junction is called a chakra.

Balanced chakras and the law of attraction.

Seven main chakras make up our energetic system. These main chakras are energetic centers located at the endocrine glands.

When your chakras are balanced, energy is able to freely flow through your energetic system. This leads to a greater sense of peace and wellness.

Having balanced chakras impacts your aura, or energetic field. A balanced aura will allow you to attract positive results.

Negative thoughts, feelings, foods, and inaction can adversely influence the chakras, thus our energetic health. The long term effects could lead to mental, emotional, and physical imbalances, density, or blocks in the chakras.

Reiki = Universal Energy

Reiki, universal life force, is the energy that connects our higher self with everything around us. Many disciplines have been established to help develop and balance this energy.

Reiki, qigong, tai chi, meditation, yoga, and feng shui are just a few of the many ways people can enhance the flow of this energy.

Recent mainstream media about Reiki certainly have spread the awareness of energy healing significantly. Yet, Reiki being around for ages.

Reiki is not only an option for physical healing, but mental and spiritual growth as well. By opening up to this energy, it is often believed that those individuals would be more capable of seeing the synchronicity in life and be able to let life flow.

Although Reiki has traditionally been used as a healing system, it is also effective as a way to help increase awareness, insight, wisdom and personal growth.

Reiki + Yoga

So perhaps you already know about Reiki. But have you ever heard of the combining the two for the power duo, Reiki Yoga?

The practice of Reiki and yoga go hand in hand as yoga increases the flow of Reiki energy in a person’s life. Where yoga may help us understand Reiki in a much deeper way, Reiki may help us understand the deeper energies of yoga.

Yoga poses and sequences can open and align the seven chakras, or energy centers, of the body. A well-tuned asana practice can free up energy and stimulate imbalances in the energy centers.

This not only enhances your yoga practice, but also provides a sense of balance, grounding, and calmness in life off the yoga mat. Not sure which chakra is blocked? Here’s how to tell which chakra needs to be cleared.

Reiki yoga is a practice based on the principle of activating your body's natural healing process of the chakras to restore physical and emotional well-being.

The technique is a combination of two ancient traditions, restorative Hatha yoga and Reiki, to bring about physical, mental, and spiritual wellness.

Reiki yoga brings together gentle yoga postures with Reiki treatments offered by Reiki practitioners that use the imposition of their hands to support and boost the natural healing processes in the body.

The combination of Reiki and yoga supports the flow of the prana, or life force energy, through helping to clear blockages and imbalances. Here are testimonials of what Reiki feels like to different people.

Reiki and yoga is practiced around the world but keep in mind that the information and techniques of Reiki do not constitute medical advice. Seeking medical advice from a qualified doctor in the case of serious illness is always recommended.

Reiki is a life long learning process.

It's simple to learn but requires daily practice! Learn Reiki I, II & Master techniques at your own pace.

Access the Reiki Master Manual:

An individual with physical imbalances in a specific area may also reflect the imbalanced qualities associated with the connecting chakra.

In a Reiki session, the energetic centers are being balanced. By balancing these centers, the physical body would also be addressed.

Reiki energy flows to the place in the body that is imbalanced and requires healing. Placing your hands on or above the specific chakra during Reiki self-care allows the energy to be drawn in. Healing Reiki energy will then flow where it is needed.

Yoga poses and sequences can open and align the seven chakras, or energy centers, of the body. A well-tuned asana practice can free up energy and activate imbalances in the energy centers.

Incorporate simple Reiki techniques into your practice will not only enhances your yoga practice, but also provides a sense of balance, grounding, and calmness in life off the yoga mat.

Before starting your practice, you can visualize Reiki energy flowing through your root to crown chakra. You can also mediate on the Reiki symbols to create positive energy flow.

Here are a powerful Reiki Yoga poses to help you balance your 7 main chakras:

First (Root) Chakra: Security & Survival

Yoga exercises: front body stretches, crow pose, chair pose

Key focus: Action speed

Second (Sacral) Chakra: Creativity

Yoga exercises: cobra pose, butterfly, sat kriya, maha mudra

Key focus: Feelings, empathy

Third (Navel) Chakra: Action & Balance

Yoga exercises: bow pose, fish pose, dancers pose, movements that strengthen the core

Key focus: Thoughts, logic

Fourth (Heart) Chakra: Love & Compassion

Yoga exercises: arm balance poses, upper torso twists, breathing exercises

Key focus: Caring, compassion

Fifth (Throat) Chakra: Projective Power of the Word

Yoga exercises: cobra pose, plow pose, camel pose, neck stretches

Key focus: Communication, listen, create

Sixth (Third Eye) Chakra: Intuition, Wisdom, & Identity

Yoga exercises: meditating, archer pose, all exercises where the foreheads rests on the floor

Key focus: Community

Seventh (Crown) Chakra: Humility & Vastness

Yoga exercises: meditating, sat kriya, mahabandha

Key focus: Self Awareness, service

Ready to combine more Reiki and yoga to balance all your chakras?

Access the Reiki Master Manual: